The Transit Gas Pipeline System [TGPS] in Poland represents a part of the gas pipeline system measuring an estimated 4000 km, running from Russia through Belarus and Poland to Western Europe.

The Polish TGPS section is owned by Transit Gas Pipeline System EuRoPol GAZ s.a., a company seated in Warsaw and is operated by Gas Transmission Operator GAZ-SYSTEM S.A.

The President of the Energy Regulatory Office issued a decision on 17 November 2010 appointing GAZ-SYSTEM S.A. as the independent operator of the Polish section of the Yamal pipeline. Pursuant to this decision, the company will perform this function until 31 December 2025.

 View the ERO President’s decision appointing the Company as the independent operator of the Polish section of the Yamal pipeline.

SGT route

The transit pipeline crosses Poland from East to West i.e. from the Polish-Belarusian border in the area of the Kondratki village to the Polish-German border in the municipality of Górzyca. The gas pipeline route runs through the following administrative areas of the country:

  • 5 voivodships (podlaskie, mazowieckie, kujawsko-pomorskie, wielkopolskie and lubuskie),
  • 27 districts and
  • 69 communes.

Basic technical specifications of the Polish section of the transit pipeline

  • Operating pressure: 8.4 MPa
  • Length: 683.9 km
  • Pipeline diameter: DN1400
  • 1 physical entry point: Kondratki
  • 3 physical exit points: Mallnow, Lwówek, Włocławek
  • 5 compressor stations representing a total installed capacity of 400 MW: TG Kondratki, TG Zambrów, TG Ciechanów, TG Włocławek, TG Szamotuły
  • 5 compressor connections with the pig entry and exit chambers, and 33 valve stations (eleven double) equipped with cut-off valve systems
  • 7 cathode protection station (including one backup station)
  • Service communication system
  • SCADA telemechanics and control system

Subscribe to Newsletter
Copyright © 2016 Gas Transmission Operator GAZ-SYSTEM S.A. All rights reserved.